Effective public service delivery through innovative governance knowledge exchange
Effective public service delivery through innovative governance knowledge exchange
National e-governance awards 2011
National e-government awards were presented in seven categories at Aurangabad on Feb 10 by the union government to recognise and promote excellence in implementation of e-governance initiatives.

The national e-governance awards instituted by department of administrative reforms and public grievances have been announced. The awards are given to recognize and promote excellence in implementation of e-governance initiatives. This year the awards have been announced in seven categories namely,  excellence in government process re-engineering, exemplary re-use of ICT based solutions, outstanding performance in citizen-centric service deliver, innovative use of technology in e-governance, innovative use of ICT by PSUs for customer’s benefits, best government portal and special award for e-governance in agriculture sector. The award will be presented at Aurangabad on Feb 10, 2011 by the union government.
The various award winners are :

Category 1 - Excellence in Government Process Re-engineering
•    GOLD     Processing of Income Tax Returns at Centralized Processing Center, Directorate of Income Tax (System), Income Tax Department, New Delhi.
•    SILVER     e-Stamping for MCA Services, Ministry of Corporate Affairs, New Delhi.
•    BRONZE     Aasthi(GIS based Property Tax Information System), Directorate of Municipal Administration, Urban Development Department, Government of Karnataka.

Category 2 - Exemplary Re-Use of ICT Based Solutions
•    GOLD     Panch Tantra – Gram Panchayatha Online System, Rural Development and Panchayatha Raj Department , Government of Karnataka and NIC
•    SILVER     Geoinformatics in implementation of Forest Rights Act 2006 in Maharashtra, Tribal Research and Training Institute, Tribal Development Department, Government of Maharashtra.
•    BRONZE     e-grantz, Centre for Development of Imaging Technology (C-DIT), Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribes Development Department, Government of Kerala .

Category 3 - Outstanding performance in Citizen-Centric Service Delivery
•    GOLD     SWAGAT – State-Wide Attention on Grievances by Application of Technology, Chief Minister’s Office, Gujarat.
•    SILVER     Aarogyam, District Health Society, Bagpat & J.P. Nagar, Government of Uttar Pradesh.
•    BRONZE     Tele Samadhan – Call Centre for Citizen facilitation and grievances redressal, Madhya Pradesh State Electronic Development Corporation, Department of IT, Government of Madhya Pradesh.

Category 4 - Innovative use of Technology in e-Governance
•    GOLD     BTRAC 2010, Bangalore Traffic Police.
•    SILVER     Integrated Watershed Management Programme (IWMP), Gujarat State Watershed Management Agency, Department of Rural Development, Government of Gujarat.
•    BRONZE     e-Disaster Management Cell, Collector Office, Gadchiroli.
•    BRONZE     e-Governance, Computer Department, Rajkot Municipal Corporation .

Category 5 - Innovative use of ICT by PSUs for Customer’s Benefits
•    GOLD     Financial Inclusion, Punjab National Bank, New Delhi.
•    SILVER     Enhanced National Train Enquiry System (ENTES), Centre for Railway Information Systems, Indian Railways.
•    BRONZE     Electronic Fund Transferring System, Rajiv Gandhi Rural Housing Corporation Limited, Housing Department, Government of Karnataka.

Category 6 - Best Government Portal
•    GOLD     Indian Customs EDI Gateway Project (ICEGATE), Directorate General of Systems & Data Management, Central Board of Excise and Customs.
•    SILVER     Net-Portal Project of Geological Survey of India, Geological Survey of India, Kolkata.
•    BRONZE     National Data Warehouse of Official Statistics, Central Statistics Office, Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, New Delhi.

Category 7 - Specific Sectoral Award - Focus Sector – Agriculture
•    GOLD     Agrisnet – Agriculture Information Service Network, Agriculture Department, Government of Tamil Nadu.
•    SILVER     e-Krishi, Kerala State IT Mission, Department of IT, Government of Kerala.
•    BRONZE     e-Auction, Tea Board of India, Kolkata.

Source: GovernanceNow